31 days: Paint

Painting is not something that I do regularly. I did once, when the farmer and I renovated a 100-year old house in New England, but my painting did not meet his expectations, so I was let go from the job. My favorite part was picking the colors for each of the rooms. The colors that we would live in, the backdrop to our lives, the colors of home. For some reason, I chose pumpkin for the dining room. I even liked it once it was on the walls, but why I thought I would want pumpkin to be the backdrop of my memories, to remind me of the acceptance and love of home, I’ll never know.

As I sat planning homeschool lessons for my little people tonight, I realized that I am, in fact, a painter. No, I do not physically paint anything, but I do spend my days painting the interior spaces of their minds with great writing, masterful art, beautiful music, and unconditional love. I have a part in creating the backdrop in front of which they will live their lives, the background to their happiest moments and also their hardest. And that painting is more beautiful than any pumpkin dining room will ever be.

2 thoughts on “31 days: Paint

  1. This is a lovely homeschooling inspiration for me thank you! I love thinking about painting my kid’s minds as we do homeschool life together. Stopping by from 31 Days Free Writes, Jenneth

Leave a comment